Madeline L’Engle’s advice for writers

What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

I would give the same advice to writers of any age – and that’s keep an honest, unpublishable journal that you don’t show to anyone. You dump things into it – it’s your private garbage can. Also, you have to read to be a writer. You have to write every day – not necessarily in your journal. But you have to do it every day. It’s like practicing a musical instrument – you have to practice and stick with it. I love every bit of it. I love getting the ideas, and I live with the ideas for a long time before I write them – I may write two or three other books while thinking about an idea. And I love sitting down to work at the computer and just starting.

From Interview with Madeline L’Engle

Leave a Reply

